Skip to content

Remembrance Day: Who do the different coloured poppies represent?

In November, we stand with the rest of country and the world and pay tribute to all of the men, women and animals that have made the ultimate sacrifice in war.

Most people think there is only one poppy to be worn for remembrance, but, in reality, there are four Remembrance Poppies which can be worn: red, white, purple and black.

The red poppy is the most recognisable and famous symbol, which used to commemorate those who sacrificed their lives in World War One and conflicts that followed.

The white poppy is handed out by a charity called Peace Pledge Union, which promotes peace.

The purple poppy is an alternative to the traditional red poppy of the Royal British Legion. The red poppy symbolises the human lives which have made the ultimate sacrifice in war where as the purple poppy recognises animals that have been the victims of war. The purple poppy was introduced by the charity Animal Aid in 2006  and felt the animals that die at war are often forgotten.

From horses to dogs and even pigeons, throughout history animals had a pivotal role in war supporting humans. There is a need that their service and sacrifice should be acknowledged with the purple poppy. The Purple Poppy Appeal is run by the War Horse Memorial with donations going to a selection of animal related causes. The poppies come in a variety of styles, from knitted, paper, pin badge and wristbands and can be worn by both humans and animals.

How can I get a purple poppy?

You can buy the poppies via the links on Murphy’s Army’s website.

The BlackPoppyRose commemorates the contributions of black, African and Caribbean communities to the war efforts. 


Your cart is currently empty.

Start Shopping

Select options